A cage inside me

I carry a cage around inside me.
In there I keep all those dreams deemed too fragile to birth,
Afraid they’ll evaporate with the sun.
Too many early hopes already now gone.
Is there energy left to build new ones?

I carry a cage around inside me
Filled with the mistakes from my initial moment waking.
Did I really call my mom that?
Why didn’t I take that job chance? That social stance?
Was it really that important to prove my husband wrong?

I carry a cage around inside me.
There my deepest hurts reside,
Hoping to contain the turmoil within.
But emotions easily slip past the bars,
Spilling out into conversations, perplexing even me.

To one day let the cage door open!
No longer afraid to express thoughts and emotions.
Allowing those dreams to take flight.
To turn regrets into wisdom.

I carry a cage around inside me,
And one day I hope I awake to find it empty.

Leave a Reply

